Alberto Vargas

Alberto Vargas.

A name synonymous with the art of the pin-up, and with good reason. I adore his work, as you may recognise by the pretty header above.

Allow me tell you a little about him: Alberto Vargas was born in Peru, the son of a renowned photographer. He spent many of his formative years in Europe, where he honed his painting skills, all the time entranced by the beauty of women. He then moved to America where, very quickly, he was commisioned to paint the glorious women of the Ziegfeld Follies. From there his career took off, but not without struggle. Wartime was a good time for Vargas.

I have a lot of respect for the Alberto Vargas. His work indicates a deep respect for the beauty of the female form.

On to the art:

vargas02a.jpg

I admit I know virtually nothing about his individual pieces, but it matters not. He learnt the art of airbrushing from his photographer father, and it served him well.

vargas01a.jpg

Look familiar?

vargas05a.jpg

I’m sensing a pattern here. Always one breast exposed. A considered and apparent carelessness on the part of the model… but of course, not. Does this evoke mystery? It seems so. I love the feminity in the way he drapes fabric…

vargas08a.jpg

One breast, yet again. I love that hat. I would also love to have her arse… haha.

Gosh, surely this is going to see me blackballed again. Then again, I say that with every post nowadays.

I may have more Vargas in future.

~ by at her discretion on May 23, 2008.

5 Responses to “Alberto Vargas”

  1. Vargas is fantastic. His artwork is beautiful, subtle, and classy. It’s very stylish and sexy… oftentimes in only a hinted way.

    I love that you used him in your header. :) He is synonymous with your taste and this blog, in my opinion. His work reminds me of you.

    I’m surprised you didn’t mention CANDY-O by the Cars.

  2. Oh, hehe… yes, The Cars, of course…

    I thought it might be a bit obvious to do a post about him, but how could I not?

    Thank you. :)

  3. I am found of Vargas, too. Lovely blog.

  4. nice blog, I wasnt expecting this to be classic yet stylish woman oriented blog. but very nice.

  5. hey there and thank you for your information –
    I have certainly picked up something new from right here.
    I did however expertise several technical points using this web site, since I experienced to
    reload the site lots of times previous to I could get
    it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK?
    Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and can damage your high-quality score if ads and
    marketing with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for much more of your respective fascinating content.
    Ensure that you update this again soon.

Leave a Reply

 
