Mirror, Mirror

Mirrors. Sometimes they tell us what we want to hear, sometimes not. Whichever way, they will always tell us the truth even if we don’t want to see it. Unless of course you are in a house of mirrors, in which case we can all have a good, wry laugh.

In times gone by, it has come to my attention that ladies of the distant past had quite the love affair with what has become for many, an arch nemesis [you know what I’m talking about].

Or maybe it was just a photographic trend.

Either way, they did have very pretty mirrors… and let’s face it; everything looks better in sepia. *wink*

Let’s see, shall we?

1824.jpg

Powder puffs! They sure don’t make them like they used to…

I think I’ll go in search of a nice powder puff next week. Lovely!

mirror-ziedfeld.jpg

Hand held mirrors aren’t what they used to be, either. I have a very pretty mirror handed down to me by my great-grandmother, very much like the one in this photograph, from what I can see.

Yes, darling.. You look wonderful.

Although, I’m not entirely sure why she is covering herself with an enormous bedspread when her breasts are falling out of her dress.

mirror-heart-shaped.jpg

Now, that’s more like it… Although shamefully, not a full-length mirror. Somehow, I don’t think anyone minds…

[Finger’s crossed this inclusion doesn’t result in my banishment from WordPress. I’ve been reported for less…]

mirrors.png

Now, this is what I like to see. A woman so in love with her own reflection, as to give herself a smooch in the mirror.

On the other hand, she could be under the influence of some kind of hallucinogen that has brought her to the point of intensive and quite silly mirror love. Somehow though, I doubt it. It just reminds me of a time….

Apologies for the abscence, folks. I’ll endeavour to not be quite so tardy in future.

~ by at her discretion on May 9, 2008.

2 Responses to “Mirror, Mirror”

  1. I’m sorry I haven’t had a chance to comment lately, but I’ve been away from WordPress.

    I love these photos… I find them (and much of this website, period) very charming. :)

  2. Thanks. :)

    Heh, I’m not hanging around here much either…

    Those photos are too big. I need to start making pictures smaller..

Leave a Reply

 
